The Association of Finnish Theatres

The Association of Finnish Theatres is an interest and employers’ organisation of Finnish professional theatres. It was founded in 1922.

The Association of Finnish Theatres has 73 member theatres all around Finland subsidised by the government or cities and the Finnish National Theatre. We work towards ensuring the operational preconditions of our member theatres and facilitating the making of high-quality theatre in Finland.

Our association works extensively in influencing cultural policy to improve the position of professional theatres in Finland. We influence national and municipal decision-making in order to ensure a stable working environment for theatres.

We represent our member theatres in labour market negotiations and co-operation for example by negotiating the collective labour agreements of the field of theatre with the employee organisations. In accordance with our role in the labour market we also offer our member theatres legal services and training.

We offer our members training that supports their operation, and we promote research in the field of theatre with both our own research and research co-operation.

Our association also takes part in international co-operation, especially in European employer co-operation and in influencing Nordic cultural policy.

Contact information

The Association of Finnish Theatres
Eerikinkatu 3 B, 4th floor
00100 Helsinki


Kaisa Paavolainen
Managing Director

  • Influencing cultural policy
  • Collective labour agreement negotiations
  • International operations
  • Association administration
  • tel. + 358 40 518 0698

Juha Kairtamo

  • Legal services
  • Collective labour agreement negotiations
  • tel. +358 40 631 7707

Tiina Piispa
Head of Communications & Relations

  • Trainings
  • Events and seminars
  • Communication and information
  • tel. +358 40 542 7281
  • /

Petra Viitanen

  • Communication and information
  • Newsletters
  • Theatre cards

The executive committee of the Association of Finnish Theatres

The highest decision-making body in the Association of Finnish Theatres is the annual general meeting, where the member theatres are entitled to send 1-3 representatives, depending on the size of the theatre. The annual general meeting elects the executive committee of ten for the Association. The executive committee is in charge of central decision-making in the Association. The members of the executive committee are elected for a term of two years.

The executive committee

Chairwoman of the board
Maija Perho

Vice Chair
Joachim Thibblin
, Teaterchef, Svenska Teatern


Mikko Kouki, Artistic Director, Turku City Theatre
Harri Natunen, Managing director, Rauma City Theatre
Ilkka Mäkelä, Board member, Seinäjoki city theatre
Päivi Myllykangas, Chairwoman of the board, Tampere Theatre
Leila Savolainen, Member of City Council, Kuopio
Mike Pohjola, Chairman of the board, Helsinki City Theatre
Sari Alatalo, Managing director, Rovaniemi Theatre
Anniina Kumpuniemi, Managing director, Dance Theatre MD